Ballot summary for Nov. 8 general election

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in include() (line 24 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/templates/simpleads_ajax_call.tpl.php).

By Shelia Tomkins

Clayton County voters will go to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 8, to choose candidates for county, state and federal offices. 

Clayton County

At the county level, there are four candidates on the ballot for two seats on the Board of Supervisors. Republicans running are Steve Doeppke and Doug Reimer, and Democrats are Lester Simons and Phil Specht.

Republican incumbent Linda Zuercher is the lone candidate for County Treasurer.

For the office of County Recorder, incumbent Sue E. Meyer, a Republican, will face Democrat Donna Kann.

County Attorney Zach Herrmann is running unopposed for re-election.

Voters in rural areas will also choose township trustees and clerks, and will vote on a measure that would allow the Board of Supervisors to appoint township officers rather than by voter choice.

State offices

Republican incumbent Anne Osmundson will face a challenge by Democrat Brian Bruening for State Representative from District 64.

The candidates for Governor/Lieutenant Governor are incumbents Kim Reynolds and Adam Gregg, Republicans; Deidre DeJear and Eric Van Lancker, Democrats, and Rick Stewart and Marco Battaglia, Libertarians. 

Other state contests are: Secretary of State, Republican Paul Pate vs. Democrat Joel Miller; Auditor of State, Todd Halbur, Republican, vs. Rob Sand, Democrat; Treasurer of State, Roby Smith, Republican, vs. Michael Fitzgerald, Democrat; Secretary of Agriculture, Mike Naig, Republican, vs. John Norwood, Democrat, and Attorney General, Brenna Bird, Republican, vs. Tom Miller, Democrat. 

Federal offices

Senate Republican incumbent Charles Grassley is facing a challenge from Democrat Michael Franken.

U.S. Representative from District 2 features a contest between Republican incumbent Ashley Hinson and Democratic challenger Liz Mathis. 

Polling sites open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. A complete list of polling sites appeared on page 13 of last week's issue of The Press.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet