Prairie du Chien wrestlers 2nd at State Team Tournament

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in include() (line 24 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/templates/simpleads_ajax_call.tpl.php).

The Prairie du Chien wrestling team displays their State Runnerup trophy. Team members are, front row: Bryce Priebe, Brogan Brewer, Drake Ingham, Maddox Cejka, Ryder Koenig, Rhett Koenig, Luke Kramer, Kurt Wall, Ty Wagner, Mason Baumgartner, Mason Idhe, and Aydan Ihde. Back row: Coach Cory Koenig, Coach Jon Quamme, Coach Jake Heuston, Head Coach Mike Rogge, Drew Hird, Christian Black, Matt Rogge, Bradyn Saint, Chase Fisher, Chad Achenbach, Kyle Quick, Jayden Johnson, Sheyenne Ronnfeldt, Manager Gabey Lenzendorf, Coach Nick Rogge, Coach Ryan Saint, and Coach Traeton Saint.

Senior Jayden Johnson works to take down his Amery opponent in the 285# match.

Senior Chase Fisher uses a wing with a far side wrist as he works to turn his Amery opponent at 170#. Fisher would record a 10-2 major decision.

Senior Matt Rogge applies tight pressure as he rides his Winneconne opponent. Rogge would win by fall.

On Saturday, Feb. 20, Adams/Friendship was the host of the WIAA D2 Team State Wrestling Championships. PDC was in the tournament for the second straight year, and were looking to make some noise following last year’s one point loss in the semifinals. The four teams at State were made up of some very good wrestlers, many of them State Champs, Placewinners, and Qualifiers. Here’s a quick reference as to just how good these teams are:

PDC: Mason Baumgartner (SQ 106#), Rhett Koenig (1st 113#), Ryder Koenig (SQ 120#), Maddox Cejka (6th 132#), Luke Kramer (SQ 145#), Matt Rogge (5th 152#), Bradyn Saint (2nd 170#)

Amery: Wy Ingham (3rd 120#), Penard (4th 138#), Tylee (6th 145#), Wa Ingham (3rd 160#), Ka Hopke (1st 195#), Ko Hopke (1st 220#), Beese (2nd 285#)

Winneconne: Kleinschmidt (SQ 106#), Sternard (SQ 113#), Hart (1st 120#), Meunier (1st 126#), Miller (6th 182#)

Kiel: Desselier (5th 120#), Schad (SQ 126#), Lund (SQ 132#), Sippel (SQ 138#), Vandermeer (SQ 182#)

As the number two seed, the Hawks would go to battle with Winneconne in the semifinals. The match would start at 195#, where PDC would pick up a big pin from Bradyn Saint to jump out to a quick 6-0 lead. The next two matches would go Winneconne’s way, with them getting two pins of their own to take a 12-6 lead. At 106# and 113#, the two teams would trade decisions, with Mason Baumgartner picking up a win at 106#. At 120#, Rhett Koenig would work his opponent over and get a pin to tie the score 15-15. At 126# and 132#, Winneconne would present their State Champs and PDC would weather the storm without giving up a pin to either of them. Winneconne would also pick up a win by decision at 138# to take a 27-15 lead. That was it for Winneconne. They would score no more points as PDC would have a pinning parade, with five consecutive falls to end the dual. Luke Kramer, Matt Rogge, Chase Fisher, Brogan Brewer, and Ty Wagner would all deck their opponents and finish out the dual with a Blackhawk victory, 45-27, to send the grapplers to their first ever Team State Finals.

In the finals, PDC would toe the line with a very good Amery team that defeated Kiel 52-22 in the semifinals. The match would start at 220#, where Amery would get a quick fall from one of their State Champs. At 285#, Amery would get a decision from a State Runnerup, followed by a major decision at 106# to jump out to a quick 13-0 lead. At 113#, Drake Ingham would stop the bleeding with a first period fall. At 120#, Rhett Koenig would follow suit, also picking up a first period fall to cut the lead to one at 13-12. Amery would bump up a State Placer to 126# and pick up a pin. Maddox Cejka would get a win by decision at 132# to make the score 19-15. Amery would get a win by fall at 138# and a win by decision at 145# from a couple of State Placewinners to extend their lead to 28-15. At 152#, Matt Rogge would get a first period fall to cut the lead to 28-21. At 160#, Amery’s State Placer would pick up a win via disqualification from stalling to take a 34-21 lead. At 170# Chase Fisher would pick up a major decision. At 182# Brayden Saint would get a fall in the second period to cut the lead to 34-31. Amery’s other State Champion awaited at 195# and would receive a forfeit as they would pick up a 40-31 win.

Box Scores:

PDC vs. Winneconne:

195#: Bradyn Saint (PDC) over Miller (WN) by fall in 2:54. PDC 6, WN 0.

220#: Krings (WN) over Chad Achenbach (PDC) by fall in 4:48. PDC 6, WN 6.

285#: Braun (WN) over Jayden Johnson (PDC) by fall in 2:12. PDC 6, WN 12.

106#: Mason Baumgartner (PDC) over Marks (WN) by decision 2-1. PDC 9, WN 12.

113#: Kleinschmidt (WN) over Drake Ingham (PDC) by decision 8-5. PDC 9, WN 15.

120#: Rhett Koenig (PDC) over Sternard (WN) by fall in 5:08. PDC 15, WN 15.

126#: B Hart (WN) over Ryder Koenig (PDC) by technical fall 16-1 in 4:59. PDC 15, WN 20.

132#: Meunier (WN) over Maddox Cejka (PDC) by major decision 18-5. PDC 15, WN 24.

138#: A Hart (WN) over Kurt Wall (PDC) by decision 6-0. PDC 15, WN 27.

145#: Luke Kramer (PDC) over Klemm (WN) by fall in 3:34. PDC 21, WN 27.

152#: Matt Rogge (PDC) over Hanke (WN) by fall in 3:02. PDC 27, WN 27.

160#: Chase Fisher (PDC) over Jechort (WN) by fall in 1:28. PDC 33, WN 27.  

170#: Brogan Brewer (PDC) over Duncan (WN) by fall in 2:20. PDC 39, WN 27.

182#: Ty Wagner (PDC) over Simon (WN) by fall in 1:03. PDC 45, WN 27.

PDC vs. Amery:

220#: Ko Hopke (AM) over Kyle Quick (PDC) by fall in 0:21. PDC 0, AM 6.

285#: Beese (AM) over Jayden Johnson (PDC) by decision 7-0. PDC 0, AM 9.

106#: Burke (AM) over Mason Baumgartner (PDC) by major decision 13-5. PDC 0, AM 13.

113#: Drake Ingham (PDC) over S Kelling (AM) by fall in 1:37. PDC 6, AM 13.

120#: Rhett Koenig (PDC) over Hinz (AM) by fall in 1:23. PDC 12, AM 13.

126#: Wy Ingham (AM) over Ryder Koenig (PDC) by fall in 3:24. PDC 12, AM 19.

132#: Maddox Cejka (PDC) over Wentz (AM) by decision 8-5. PDC 15, AM 19.

138#: Penard (AM) over Kurt Wall (PDC) by fall in 1:54. PDC 15, AM 25.

145#: Tylee (AM) over Luke Kramer (PDC) by decision 8-3. PDC 15, AM 28.

152#: Matt Rogge (PDC) over T Kelling (AM) by fall in 1:07. PDC 21, AM 28.

160#: Wa Ingham (AM) over Brogan Brewer (PDC) by DQ. PDC 21, AM 34.  

170#: Chase Fisher (PDC) over Andren (AM) by major decision 10-2. PDC 25, AM 34.

182#: Bradyn Saint (PDC) over Cook (AM) by fall in 3:18. PDC 31, AM 34.

195#: Ka Hopke (AM) won by forfeit. PDC 31, AM 40.

Prairie du Chien wrestling would like to thank all of their amazing fans, sponsors, and faithful for supporting them in a season like no other. PDC wrestling would also like to thank the seniors for all of their hard work and dedication to the program. These young men (Chad Achenbach, Christian Black, Chase Fisher, Jayden Johnson, Kyle Quick, Matt Rogge, Bradyn Saint) have built a resume that will be hard for any other class to match in their four years of high school wrestling:

-3 SWC Conference Titles

-1 SWC/SWAL Clash Title

-4 Regional Titles

-2 Sectional Titles

-2 Trips to Team State

-1 Team State Runnerup.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet