Prairie matmen are regional champions

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in include() (line 24 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/templates/simpleads_ajax_call.tpl.php).

Prairie du Chien wrestlers who qualified for sectionals are, front row: Bradyn Saint, Rhett Koenig, Maddox Cejka, Luke Kramer, and Ryder Koenig. Back row: Mason Baumgartner, Chad Achenbach, Kurt Wall, Chase Fisher, and Matt Rogge.

Maddox Cejka toes the line in his semifinal match at regionals. Cejka would win by major decision and then go on to victory in the finals for a Regional Title at 132#.

Rhett Koenig applies heavy pressure from his feet in his Regional Championship match. Koenig would pin his opponent in the second period to win the Regional Title at 113#.

On Saturday, Jan. 30, the WIAA wrestling tournament series started in the state of Wisconsin. Prairie du Chien was the host for a WIAA D2 Regional, with six teams competing for a crown. 

The PDC grapplers showed up to wrestle, and came away with a Regional Championship, marking the fourth consecutive year the Hawks have done so. PDC scored 271 points on their way to a very convincing win. Viroqua finished second with 132.5 points. Every wrestler in the PDC lineup scored points. At the end of the day, the Hawks advanced 10 wrestlers to Saturday’s Sectional. Of the 10, five were Regional Champs. Champions were: Rhett Koenig (113#), Ryder Koenig (120#), Maddox Cejka (132#), Luke Kramer (145#), and Bradyn Saint (170#). Advancing with second-place finishes were: Mason Baumgartner (106#), Kurt Wall (138#), Matt Rogge (152#), Chase Fisher (160#), and Chad Achenbach (195#). In addition, Drew Hird (126#), Brogan Brewer (182#), Kyle Quick (220#), and Jayden Johnson (285#) all finished third. 

Traditionally, the Hawks would now advance to Tuesday night’s Team Sectional to determine which team would represent the Sectional at the Team State Tournament. However, due to COVID, the team that scores the most points at Saturday’s Individual Sectional will advance to Team State. 

Sectional on Saturday

On Saturday, the Blackhawks will be in Richland Center for Individual Sectionals with a 10 a.m. start. There will be a lot on the line, as individuals will be looking to advance to the State Tournament and teams will be battling it out to determine who advances to Team State. 

Go Hawks!

Rate this article: 
No votes yet