Election day ballot summary

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in include() (line 24 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/templates/simpleads_ajax_call.tpl.php).

By Shelia Tomkins

Voters in Clayton County will join the nation in casting ballots on Tuesday, Nov. 8, to choose candidates for local, state, federal and presidential offices. Following is a summary of the ballot that voters in The Press readership area will use. 

County offices

Clayton County voters will choose the following:

Board of Supervisors (one seat): Joleen Jansen (D), Ray Peterson (R), Steve Doeppke

County Auditor: Jennifer Garms (D), Deborah Scott (R)

County Sheriff: Mike Tschirgi (R)

Soil and Water District Commissioner (three seats open): Gerry Ommen, Ron Kaiser and Owen Sylvester

County Agricultural Extension Council (four seats open): Linda Orr, Deb Schulte, Julie Bergan

Candidates for township trustees will also appear on the ballot in their appropriate precincts.

State candidates

State Senate, District 28: Michael Breitbach (R), Jan Heikes (D),  Troy Hageman (Libertarian) State Representative, District 56: Kristi Hager (R), Patti Ruff (D)

Federal offices

U.S. Senator: Charles Grassley (R), Patty Judge (D), Charles Aldrich (L), Jim Hennager (New Independent), Michael Luick-Thrams

President and Vice President: Hillary Clinton and Tim Kaine (D), Donald Trump and Michael Pence (R), Gary Johnson and Bill Weld (L), plus seven alternative party candidates 

Judicial ballot

Voters will vote on whether to retain three justices on the Iowa Supreme Court, four justices on the Iowa Court of Appeals and one district court judge. 


Polls will open at 7 a.m. and close at 9 p.m. on election day. The following are polling sites in The Press readership area:

Jefferson and Millville precints: Guttenberg Municipal Building, 502 South First Street

Garnavillo and Clayton precincts: Garnavillo Community Center, 106 W. Niagara Street

Buena Vista precincts: Immaculate Conception Parish Hall, Walnut Street, North Buena Vista

Elk, Mallory and Volga precincts: Elkport-Garber Community Center, 120 Main Street, Elkport

Lodomillo precints: Edgewood City Hall, 203 West Union Street 

Voters who miss the pre-registration deadline may still use the Election Day Registration process. 

For further details on voting, check the sample ballots in the Wednesday, Oct. 19, issue of The Press.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet