Awards presented, royalty crowned at Clayton County dairy banquet

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in include() (line 24 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/templates/simpleads_ajax_call.tpl.php).

2016-17 dairy royalty crowned at the Clayton County Dairy Banquet on June 3 were, front from left, Clayton County Little Miss Squirt Rachel Eglseder, alternate Junior Dairyman Allan Schaefers and Junior Dairyman Colten Kolker; back row, State Dairy Princess Kate Stewart and Clayton Dairy Princess Emily Moses. (Press photo by Melissa Spielbauer Combs)

The Clayton County dairy banquet was held at Johnson’s Reception Hall in Elkader on Friday evening June 3.  A meal was served from 6:30-8:30 p.m., followed by a program that featured the presentation of awards and the naming of the 2015-2016 Clayton County dairy royalty.

The evening’s highlight was the crowning of Emily Moses of Monona as the 2016-2017 Clayton County Dairy Princess. She is the daughter of Travis and Nancy Moses. Little Miss Squirt is Rachel Eglseder, daughter of Brooks and Sarah Eglseder of Edgewood. Junior Dairyman is Colten Kolker, son of Thomas and Vicky Kolker of Garnavillo, and the Junior Dairyman Alternate is Allan Schaefers, son of Christopher and Brenda Schaefers of Edgewood. The following major awards went to:

Dairy Best Award: This award goes to an eating establishment that does an outstanding job of serving real dairy products. This year's recipient was C.J. Lanes, Elkader, owned by Joe and Tammy Sylvester.

Dairy Appreciation Award: Megan Kregel of Calmar received the award for her support of the dairy industry.

Senior Dairy Producer Award: Ron and Georgi Kaiser of Garnavillo were the recipient of this award that honors individuals who have achieved excellence in managing their dairy operation and have contributed leadership.

Outstanding Young Dairy Producer Award: Todd Johnson of Guttenberg earned the award that goes to the producer who has achieved excellence in managing their dairy enterprise and who has contributed leadership to the dairy industry and their community.

Distinguished Dairy Producer Award: Karen and Alan Schantz of Strawberry Point were the recipients of this year's award for achieving excellence in managing their dairy enterprise and taking leadership roles in the industry and in their community. 

Other Awards

Those in The Press readership area who received DHIA Production Certificates and awards included Tim and Kari Gaul of Guttenberg, Kent, Bryon and Sandra Franks of St. Olaf, WesselCrest of Greeley, Lee and Sara Pattison of Garnavillo and Kregel Dairy of Guttenberg. 

More photos and coverage of this year’s dairy awards will appear in the June Dairy issue in an upcoming issue of The Guttenberg Press.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet