Primary election is Tuesday, June 7

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in include() (line 24 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/templates/simpleads_ajax_call.tpl.php).

By Shelia Tomkins

Clayton County residents will join Iowans statewide when they head to the polls on Tuesday, June 7, to choose candidates to represent their party in the November general election.

County races are as follows:

County Sheriff: Incumbent Mike Tschirgi is running unopposed in the Republican primary. No Democratic candidate filed for the position.

County Auditor: Two Democrats are vying to represent their party in November — Jennifer Garms and Elizabeth Jaster. On the Republican ticket, Deborah Scott is running unopposed.

Board of Supervisors: There is one vacancy open on the county board of supervisors for the seat currently held by Larry Gibbs. There are four Democratic candidates: Steve Doeppke, Michael W. Finnegan, Joleen Jansen and Lester Simons, and two Republican candidates, Chad Freeman and Ray Peterson.

State Offices

U.S. Senator: Incumbent Charles Grassley is the lone candidate on the Republican ticket. Four Democrats are seeking their party's nomination: Thomas Fiegen, Robert Hogg, Patty Judge and Bob Krause.

U.S. Representative, District 1: Pat Murphy and Monica Vernon face each other on the Democratic ticket; incumbent Rod Blum is the lone Republican on the ticket.

State Senator, District 28: Michael Breitbach is running for the Republican nomination; Jan Hiekes is the lone candidate on the Democratic ticket.

State Representative, District 55: Two Republicans — Michael Bergan and Alex Popenhagen — are on the ballot, and two Democrats — Steve McCargar and Pat Ritter — are on the ballot.

State Representative, District 56: Incumbent Patti Ruff is unopposed in the Democratic primary. Two Republicans are vying for the nomination: Lowell Engle and Kristi Hager. 

Voting sites

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. in all voting sites. Following are precinct sites in The Press readership area:

Jefferson-Millville: Guttenberg Municipal Building.

Buena Vista: I.C. parish hall in North Buena Vista.

Clayton-Garnavillo: Garnavillo Community Center.

Elk-Mallory-Volga: Elkport Garber Community Center.

Lodomillo: Edgewood City Hall.

Read: Scenic Acres Care Facility, St. Olaf. 

Complete election details and sample ballots appeared in the May 18 issue of The Press.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet