Election yields city council changes

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/simpleads.helper.inc).
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/simpleads.helper.inc).
  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/simpleads.helper.inc).
  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in include() (line 24 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/templates/simpleads_ajax_call.tpl.php).

McGregor, Marquette and Luana will all see changes to their city councils in the coming year following last week’s city elections.

The race for two seats on the McGregor Council was not officially declared until Monday, following a canvassing of votes, as newcomer Jason Echard and incumbents Rogeta Halvorson and Joe Muehlbauer were all within several votes of one another. The official results put Echard at 65 votes and Muehlbauer at 61, defeating Halvorson, who had 59.

The mayoral seat in McGregor was uncontested, with incumbent Harold Brooks winning re-election with 88 votes. 

McGregor had a 19.49 percent voter turnout.

In Marquette, 42.42 percent of registered voters went to the polls, electing Eleanor Soulli and Pamela Brodie-Fitzgerald to the two available seats on the council. With 90 votes and 77 votes, respectively, the two beat out Tracy Melver, who collected 47 votes. 

With 71 write-in votes, David Schneider was elected mayor, defeating Larry Breuer, who picked up 19. 

Newcomers Jackie Radloff Schneider and Todd Olson will join the Luana Council after gaining 48 votes and 40 votes, respectively, Nov. 3. Incumbent Lonnie Baade secured the final open seat with 33 votes. The other incumbent, Marvin Mohs, received 27 votes, and was not re-elected to the council.

Incumbent mayor Jerry Schroeder was again re-elected, garnering 45 votes.

Luana had a 31.48 percent voter turnout.

With no contested races, Monona saw just 8.96 percent of registered voters head to the polls. With 85 votes, mayor Barb Collins won re-election, as did incumbent council members Randee Blietz, Daniel Havlicek and Andrew Meyer, who received 80, 82 and 84 votes, respectively.

Beau Bennett and Travis Torkelson each gained 23 votes, and Herb Morley 15, to be re-elected to the Farmersburg Council. With 25 votes, mayor Glenn Radloff was also re-elected.

Of registered voters in Farmersburg, 15.57 percent voted.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet