Crawford County gives real estate ‘tax break’ to residents

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/

By Ted Pennekamp


At its May 21 meeting, the Crawford County Board passed a resolution adopting Act 185, which pushes back the deadline from July 31 to Oct. 1 for people to pay their second installment of 2019 real estate taxes.

County Treasurer Deanne Lutz said the county had to wait until all 22 municipalities in the county (cities, villages, townships) also passed Act 185 for it to go into effect countywide. The municipalities voted on the resolution during their various meetings during the month of June up until June 30.

In addition to pushing back the payment deadline to Oct. 1, the County Board’s resolution also waives eight months worth of interest and penalties if the second installment isn’t paid by Oct. 1.

Lutz said that if one municipality had not approved of the resolution, the residents of that municipality would have had to pay their taxes as usual by July 31, including interest and penalties, if they were delinquent with their payment. Residents of the other 21 municipalities would have gotten the extension to Oct. 1 and the waiver on eight months worth of interest and penalties for a late payment.

Lutz said she is sending out reminder notices to all county residents who have not paid their real estate taxes yet for the second installment. The reminders will also explain what the passage of Act 185 means.

“We are one of only 10 counties in the state that have passed Act 185,” said Lutz. “It was done because of hardships for taxpayers in Crawford County due to COVID-19.” There are 72 counties in Wisconsin.

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)