Clayton County elects new supervisors

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/

By Shelia Tomkins

Clayton County residents elected two new members to the Clayton County Board of Supervisors in mid-term elections held Nov. 6.

Sharon Keehner and Steve Doeppke, both running on the Republican ticket, were named to two vacancies on the Board of Supervisors. 

Keehner was the high vote-getter with 4,353, followed by Doeppke with 4,284. Vote totals are unofficial until the canvassing of votes (set to take place after The Press deadline).

Incumbents running unopposed for Clayton County offices were all re-elected. Treasurer  Linda Zuercher had 6,956 votes; Recorder Sue Meyer 6,933 and Attorney Alan Heavens 6,684.

Clayton County is divided by Iowa House Districts 55 and 56. Republican Anne Osmundson was elected State Representative for  District 56 with 3,972 Clayton County votes. The District 55 race was deemed too close to call prior to canvassing, with Michael Bergan holding an 8-vote district lead over challenger Kayla Koether.

Democratic Abby Finkenauer was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives, defeating incumbent Rod Blum. Clayton County voters preferred Blum, 4,295 to 3,282.

Incumbent Governor Kim Reynolds was re-elected with 50.4 percent of the vote, defeating challenger Fred Hubbell. Clayton County voters gave her a 4,486-2,951 margin.

State office winners were Paul Pate for Secretary of State; Rob Sand, State Auditor; Michael Fitzgerald, State Treasurer, Mike Naig, Secretary of Agriculture and Tom Miller, Attorney General. Clayton County gave majority votes to Pate, Fitzgerald, Naig and Miller, but preferred Mary Mosima by a 19-vote margin in her losing bid for State Auditor.

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)