Amundson named Packers High School Coach of the Week

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/

The Prairie du Chien football team is: coaches (on left) Todd Yager, Jeff Dick, Mark McWilliams, Jason Thiry and Nathan Gevelinger. Players, front row, Bryce Bedward, Jarrett Debruin, Clinton Cale, Gavin Gillitzer, Dylan Yeomans, Dominic Wright, Ethan Swiggum, Cody Cauffman, Chris Check, Hunter Sheckler, Peyton Hall, Reid Koenig and Grant Martin. Second row, Austin Bachman, Riley Meyers, Ryan McGrath, Carter Pederson, Mitch Luster, Zach Swiggum, Owen Feye, Chad Mara, Nick Rogge, Ty Smock, Keenan Holley, Drake Coleman, Casey Hogenson, Adrian Johanningmeier and Gunnar Kravchuck. Back row, Robert Velasco, Cade Clark, Drew Scott, Scott Sauter, Cory Check, Eric Nolan, Luke Wright, Aaron Neisius, Tyler Adrian, Sean McGrath, Josh Kotte, Cory Fischer, Tyler Mason, Steve Ronnfeldt, Zach Neisius and Nathan Banasik. Coaches (on right) Paul Morovits, Head Coach Aaron Amundson, Brad Lange, Jeff Riter, Dave Antoniewicz, Kalen Hagen and Sean Montgomery. Kevin Campbell is not pictured. (Photo submitted)

The Green Bay Packers have announced Aaron Amundson of Prairie du Chien High School has been named the Green Bay Packers High School Football Coach of the Week.

Amundson, who is in his seventh year as the head coach of the Prairie du Chien football program, led the Blackhawks to a 44-43 victory Friday over conference powerhouse Lancaster. The victory marked the program’s first win over the Flying Arrows since 2004 and secured at least a share of the Southwest Wisconsin Conference title, a feat they haven’t achieved since 1988.

Prairie du Chien will now host the 7-1 River Valley Blackhawks for a chance at sole possession of the conference championship.   

“We are blessed to have a great group of seniors who have been playing a lot of varsity ball over the past few years,” said Amundson. “These young men endured some hardships over time and it’s a testament to our players for buying into what we’ve been asking of them over this past year.”

A Westby native, Amundson is a 1992 graduate of Westby High School, where he played fullback and linebacker. After high school, he attended the University of Wisconsin-Platteville before transferring to the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse. Upon graduating in 1997, Amundson accepted his first coaching position at Prairie du Chien as the freshmen head coach. After 10 years, he was promoted to varsity head coach in 2006, where he remained for five seasons. He then took three years off from coaching, and returned to the varsity head coaching position in 2014. Amundson is also the principal for Bluff View Intermediate School in the Prairie du Chien School District.   

Amundson and his staff oversee a program of 50 players, including a varsity roster of 32. His coaching staff includes Dave Antoniewicz, Jeff Dick, Jason Thiry, Jeff Riter, Kalen Hagen, Kevin Campbell, Bradford Lange, Nathan Gevelinger, Paul Morovits, Sean Montgomery, Mark McWilliams and Todd Yager.

Amundson and his wife, Tina, have a daughter, Taylor, and three sons, Jack, Max and Abe.

About the Green Bay Packers High School Coach of the Week Program
The Packers will recognize one outstanding high school coach as their ‘Coach of the Week’ winner during the 2015 high school football season. Winners are awarded several items and privileges, including a $1,000 donation to the school’s football program from the Green Bay Packers and the NFL Foundation, as well as recognition of the award on, and

Nominations for Coach of the Week should be submitted by 10 a.m. every Monday to Tim Schroeder, youth football coordinator, at Please include the nominee’s name, address, school, phone number and reason he/she is deserving of the award.

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)